A Battle of MMOs

I’ve always enjoyed playing MMOs since first discovering them with ToonTown. They have got to be one of my favourite genres, with many hours spent levelling my characters in an online world.

Guild Wars World of Warcraft MMOs Disc Cases Covers

My MMO disc collection

In this upcoming “A Battle of MMOs” series I’ll be looking at games in this genre which I’ve experienced and enjoyed throughout my life. It’ll be a sort of review like format, featuring my likes and dislikes with the games, but also including memories I have had while playing them which have made me return since to try to relive them.

This is the first attempt I’ve had at doing something like this, so hopefully you’ll find it interesting. I was originally going to look at my MMO experiences in just one post, however I’ve decided to split each game into its own post as the word count was getting rather large!

The games in question are:

They are all MMORPGs but I think it’s quite a good mix to look at.

These are only games that I’ve played so this isn’t a Top 5 “All-time Best MMOs” list. I’m well aware that there are many more great MMOs out there which I haven’t featured – which I’ll try and play in the future – but I do highly recommend these five.

5 thoughts on “A Battle of MMOs

  1. I learned one good thing here, which is that there was a disc copy of Eye of the North. I think back in 2007 or whenever I got it, it was mainly just a paid-for download from ArenaNet, so it is really cool that you can actually get a box with a disc in it. I much prefer that over Steam things these days, but it seems that with crazy file sizes, we are moving away from discs somewhat. The rumor is that major games and movies (like full 4K movies) may come in SD cards or a flash drive, though 😛

    • Oh really? That is interesting, I do prefer discs but like you say, they do seem to be on a decline. Steam is much more convenient but there is something more special about having a physical copy. Haven’t heard that before, thanks for the info 🙂

      • Well, it does make sense. When it comes to media distribution, you could do a dual-layer Blu-Ray, which might work for movies, but the problem there is that most 4K movies of an average length (1.5 to 2 hours) would still be too large for that disc without compression that would make the idea of 4K kind of a waste anyway. So I know Sony basically right now has this thing where you download them to a hard-drive and watch them, which is interesting.

        For games, there’s the issue with that most people don’t do blu-ray drives on their computer, so really eventually some kind of flash-drive would be the main way to distribute certain games. But I think at least for the PC market, we will be paying for a pretty box with a redeem code in it going forward, because it makes hardly any sense for them to give you a box with 5 DVDs in it to install a game 😛

        • Now you mention it, it does make sense. Thank you for such a great explanation, certainly saved googling it haha. Yeah that is a fair point, I’ve have a couple of games like that with four discs and hadn’t thought about it like this so thanks 🙂 I remember when I bought Guild Wars 2, the CD basically seemed to just be for downloading the installer and perhaps slightly giving it a head start over just downloading it all online. I do like the pretty boxes though!

          • And also just as I remembered it, to be fair Eye of the North wasn’t a full on expansion like the others so that may explain why they chose to make it just a simple download after its release.

Leave a Reply

