‘I Forget Where We Were’ by Ben Howard

'I forgot where we were' album art cover

You can buy the album from Amazon by clicking here

Release Date: 20 October 2014

Genres: Indie Folk/Rock

“I Forget Where We Were” is the second album from Ben Howard after “Every Kingdom”.

I think it’s fair to say that it is a different sounding album from his cheery first, however while perhaps not as immediate, it is well worth additional listens to really appreciate the songs.

There aren’t any songs for me on the level of ‘Only Love’ or ‘Keep Your Head Up’ but there are plenty of growers that help create a much more complete album than Every Kingdom.

Top Three Tracks

I often use Amazon’s ‘popularity’ measurement to quickly judge the favourite songs of an album, with the released singles often the biggest sellers. However for this album I was amused to see that my three favourite songs were among the lowest sellers.

On my first listen I really wasn’t too impressed until I hit ‘Time is Dancing’ which caused me to pause and change my opinion. The first two songs ‘Small Things’ and ‘Rivers in Your Mouth’ have since grown to be my other two favourites songs after repeated listens.

My bonus favourite is ‘End of the Affair’ for such a great ending.

 

Leave a Reply

