‘Ultraviolence’ by Lana Del Rey

Lana del rey ultraviolence album art cover review

You can buy the album from Amazon by clicking here

Release Date: 13 June 2014

Genre: Dream Pop

What do pink lemonade, I’m a Celebrity and Lana Del Rey all have in common? They are all guilty pleasures of mine of course. I can’t say that I can relate too much to Lana’s lyrics but her songs are just so captivating that it doesn’t seem to matter… just as long as I don’t start singing out loud!

It goes without saying really that the mood to ‘Ultraviolence’ is a completely different tone to ‘Born to Die’ but I’ve enjoyed her new album as much as her last. I personally think it’s great when artists try out new styles as long as they don’t lose their identity along the way.

What I love most about the album is that each song is interesting, meaning that while what feels like half of the tracks have now been released as singles, there are still some left to explore and enjoy for yourself as a reward.

Top Three Tracks

Picking my top three is incredibly difficult… Here goes.

Brooklyn Baby‘ is without a doubt my favourite from the album, perhaps one of my favourite all-time tracks. High praise indeed.

Next I think I’ll place ‘West Coast‘.

Lastly… ‘Sad Girl‘.

Can’t recommend Ultraviolence enough!

Leave a Reply

