Going into games blind and those first experiences (Elder Scrolls and Dragon Age)

whiterun night skyrim

Rohan?!

Sorry for the lack of posts recently, I thought I’d attempt to make amends by (hopefully) giving you something nice to read, accompanied with a hand-picked selection of my very own screenshots.

In this post I’m taking a look at those nostalgic first encounters and how these experiences are so key for open world RPG games. I promise I’ll return to posting more frequently, I’ve just had trouble finding time recently.

The first recent game that crossed my mind was Elder Scrolls Skyrim, a game that everyone must have played with such high critical acclaim making it impossible to ignore. I’ve really being dying to do something Skyrim related on my blog for the amount of enjoyment and time I spent playing it.

A good indicator I find for how much I like a game is how much I want to collect all achievements and achieve 100%, as by doing so I should discover most of the content. Including Skyrim, I’ve only managed this feat seven times… although some games are just evil! Ahem Civ 5.

gold skyrim treasure

A ‘treasure trove’ of experiences…

Discovery is such a huge aspect of this open world genre that having played Skyrim’s predecessor Oblivion, I knew that I’d need to isolate myself from all the discussion and playthroughs that quickly sprang up after its release. The hard part was that it wasn’t until Christmas that I did finally play it, I’m not going to lie, from then onwards that Christmas was not as family focused as it perhaps should have been!

Those feelings you get from experiencing such big moments in a game like Skyrim makes going in ‘blind’ so rewarding. Setting your eyes on Whiterun for the first time, dropping your jaw at how big the world is, finding out you can shout people off cliffs… just memories to cherish really.

The same Skyrim situation is happening with Dragon Age: Inquisition. I’ve barely watched any footage of it for the fear I may find myself spoiled, but at the same time it’s so difficult to not look it up with such positive reviews. I could of course just go out and buy it but I’ve got such a backlog of games at the minute that I’ve just about persuaded myself not to. I mean I haven’t even played Origins yet…

I suppose it’s quite genre specific. For instance when I’m playing grand strategy games like Crusader Kings or Europa Univeralis, you’d have to be mad to go into those games without any help, as the tutorials are really quite poor and there is far too much to take in at first.

I think where there is story and discovery involved, it really is an absolute must to go in blind and explore for yourself. That’s one of my favourite aspects of RPGs. You shouldn’t know what’s out there before you even begin.

(Yes it was great to finally talk about Skyrim!)

riverwood skyrim dragonborn

Only fitting to end where it all began!

8 thoughts on “Going into games blind and those first experiences (Elder Scrolls and Dragon Age)

  1. Really enjoyed Skyrim, but bought Dragon Age a few weeks before Christmas and haven’t really gotten into it as of yet. The game looks like it has a lot of potential and some similarities to Skyrim, however I am playing NBA 2K15 alot at the moment!

  2. Civ 5 (especially on Steam – those achievements!) is by far the most evil game I have ever seen for completing 100%, since, y’know, every game takes around 10 hours. It’s a game for people with no life.

Leave a Reply

